Skip to content

Thomas Mann once wrote:

11 November 2010

“To me, every meal is a little celebration.”

I adore the thought (and the act!) of lingering over a meal with close family or friends.  As a student, my life seems to be in a perpetual frenzy: I am constantly rushing to get work done, to make that appointment, to exercise- oh, and to attempt at getting at least seven hours of sleep each night.

When I began to live at school, my life became even busier than ever before.  I learned to appreciate mealtimes; to see them as respites that allow me to catch up with friends or savor a delicious treat.  Nowadays I cherish meeting my friends on campus for a soothing, hour-long lunch.  We make time for it despite all of our hectic schedules.  (We have our priorities straight!)

There’s something to be said for the importance of regular social contact in a stressed out student’s out life.  When I’m stressed, I can go days “hiding” from all of humanity – it doesn’t make me happy, but it’s my coping mechanism.  When I manage to buck the inclination to hole up in my room and take the time to catch up with a friend, I can put my worries on hold and enjoy the company.

The bottom line?  Eat some good food with some good people.  You won’t regret it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

