Skip to content

I’M A LOSER!

16 November 2010

But hey, at least I’m cool with it.

HerCampus recently announced the winners of the New Balance Fitness Blogging competition… and alas, I was not one of them.  I did not expect to be hailed as a champion thanks to my conscious disregard for the content wanted for my entries – photos? what are those? videos? No thanks.

I’m not trying to say that I’m above it all; instead I observe.  Ever since I was a young girl I always tended to want to do things my own way.  Whether it was stirring a tall glass of chocolate milk, pulling on striped stockings, or braiding my flaxen locks, my mantra was always, I want to do it!”

It’s nice to know that nothing has changed.

So what was so wrong with my entries?  For one thing, I wrote.  All the time.  I didn’t “give shout outs” to New Balance throughout my entries (whose shoes I have to thank for an inflamed tendon) or make videos all about my experience.  But boy, did I write.  I wrote about everything from my commandments for weight loss at college, failed weekends, eating clean, and pumping iron.  It’s not a total loss – I realized that I enjoy chit-chattin’ with you all about health and fitness, but it’s probable that I could have been about 20% less stressed this semester if I didn’t have this commitment.  But that’s my own fault, right?

I had some fun, scored a little swag in the process, and got my name out there as a blogger.  To me, I’m a WEINER!

….Or did I mean a Winner?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

