Skip to content

“Snickers” trail mix bars

23 May 2011
I have created the ultimate on-the-go snack.
But Elizabeth, you scoff.  All you do is sit around all day and watch the Barefoot Contessa and make ridiculous food.

Although that assertion may be more true than I would like at the moment, during the school year, on-the-go is my middle name.  I love always having stuff to do.  It can be stressful, but I find it fulfilling and that keeping busy gives my days structure.
In a few weeks, I will resume working as a swim instructor and life guard at my local YMCA.  This summer will be my third year on the job.  I love it because it keeps my days jam-packed, allows me to meet cool new people, and allows me to use the gym facilities and classes all the time.  Yesss.  Spinning class?  Here I come.  Kickboxing?  Watch out.  I’m looking at you, power pilates.
Until then, I am perfectly content to sit on the couch and watch Barefoot Contessa, thank you.
These bars will be perfect when I am running from my morning power yoga to the pool deck.  They will also be perfect when I am rushing from my East Asian Philosophies class to Economics 101 next fall.
The combination of the peanut butter, honey, maple syrup, and sweet dabs of chocolate makes these bars taste like something you could buy out of a candy machine.  Lucky for you, they have no gross artificial sweetners or preservatives, and contain a dose of hearty fiber and good fats to keep you full and satisfied until after spin class.
(Based on Eat, Live, Run’s Yogi Trail Mix Bars

“Snickers” trail mix bars  (makes 8 bars) 
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1/4 c. maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 c. chunky peanut butter
  • 3/4 c. instant oats
  • 1/4 c. flour
  • handful chopped nuts – I used walnuts and slivered almonds.
  • generous handful dried fruits – you can use cherries, cranberries, apricots, prunes, etc.  Be creative!
  • small handful semisweet chocolate chips
  1. Combine the first six ingredients in a medium saucepan.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 3-4 mins, until the mixture has a syrup-like consistency.
  2. Combine oats, flour, nuts, and dried fruits in a bowl.
  3. Pour the honey mixture into the oat mixture and stir until combined.
  4. Lightly fold the chocolate chips into the mixture so they do not melt (too much!).
  5. Press mixture into a 8-inch bread loaf pan and refridgerate.
  6. Once chilled, cut into strips and wrap up for a healthy, satisfying, on-the-go snack!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

