Skip to content

Homemade gluten-free and vegan granola

11 October 2011

Happy Tuesday!  I spent the 4-day weekend relaxing at home in Connecticut.  My little brother came home from school, too, so it was a true family affair.  In the midst of birthday celebrations for him (even the smell of his gluten-filled cake made my stomach churn) I was able to do some shopping and some soul-searching.

I also made this granola!  It’s certainly not as deep as any personal revelations I might be inclined to share with strangers on the internet, but what’s delicious is what makes the press.  And this is delicious.

In fact, it’s so good that a third of my stash was gone by this morning.  My brother and dad had been nibbling away at it, not knowing that it was healthy (plus, gluten-free and vegan!).  They are my toughest critics – if something is not up to their Americanized, sugar-laden standards, they’ll tell me (in the most loving and constructive way, of course!).

hearty gluten-free and vegan granola (from Love, Veggies, & Yoga)

  • 3/4 c. almond butter
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar (less if you want)
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 4.5 c. old-fashioned or steel-cut oats
  • 1.5 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2.5 T cinnamon
  • optional dried fruit and/or nuts add ins (I used raisins and dried cherries)

By the way, if you haven’t checked out Love, Veggies, and Yoga, you totally should!  It is my favorite health and wellness blog on the web, and I am a daily reader!  There are GF, raw, vegan, and/or soy-free dessert recipes galore.

Preheat your oven to 375F.  Melt the almond butter, brown sugar, and almond milk in a large saucepan on low heat.  Stir in the vanilla and cinnamon.  Then, add the oatmeal and mix to coat completely.  Add in any dried fruit/nuts if desired.  Spread onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and stick in the oven for 10-15 minutes, or until the edges turn a dark golden brown.  Let cool completely on the baking sheet and then break into smaller pieces.

I love this granola because it’s ultra-chewy and tastes sinful.  I’m glad, though, that the recipe couldn’t be simpler and more wholesome.  Eating naturally is always better than eating something with a long list of ingredients, no matter what crazy health claims it may make!

Have a fantastic week.  I’m headed off to a 90-minute Anusara class before I head back to campus this afternoon.  One of my favorite teachers will be instructing.  I will never remember the day when she said to me, The whole world is less bright if you don’t shine.  How true is that?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

